Incredible Service


Last week I was on a cruise vacation.  This is my favorite type of vacation because the folks on board the ship deliver incredible customer service, and not just because they are paid too.  They take a personal responsibility that is hard for a training guy to conceive of delivering in a nice workshop package.

Our room steward was explaining on the first day his expectations for his service.  I commented that I have been on several cruises and that I have never had a bad experience.  He said, “I know you have had good experiences before, but it is my job to make this time even better.”

Talk about a tall order to fill, I was intrigued but was very unsure how he could deliver on his promises.  While the service was much better than I had ever experienced, it was from our daily talks in the hallway as we were coming and going that I discovered his secret.

You see he personally took the responsibility for our complete satisfaction.  He interjected himself into any issue we could have been talking about on board and made sure we were taken care of, even those things way outside of his role and defined responsibility.

Personal accountability is hard to come by these days for what people should be accountable for in their jobs, but this 27-year-old from the Ukraine, took on the world to demonstrate he was going to show this veteran cruiser that I had not seen the very best there was to offer.

If you have not been on a cruise before, and especially if you are responsible for creating a service culture within your company, I strongly suggest you take a week’s vacation and do some research.  Be prepared to be amazed, and join me in the discussion on how we could create these types of employees on land.

My compliments to Carnival Cruises’ Training Department, Management, but especially to Yevhan!  Well done!

Leave a Reply

