State of No Ethics


If you have been following this blog at all, you no doubt realize that I seldom discuss politics.  Yet after last night’s “State of the Union” address, I can’t hold back any longer.

In Leadership training, we often talk about ethics, and one part of an ethical leader to me is someone I can trust.  For me to trust someone they cannot lie or twist the truth.  From my point of view, the twisting of events in the State of the Union was just a lot over the top this year.

I can understand trying to spin things toward your point of view, but leaving out little details that would lend to a different conclusion is just plain dishonest.  As one pundit said after the speech, he was surprised how our President seems to believe one way and governs another way. (I’m paraphrasing him)  What I hear was his walk doesn’t match his talk.

As far as I’m concerned it is time for some real hope and some real change this election year.  Maybe if we are lucky we can find candidates that walk their talk, and spin a lot less.  Maybe we can find leaders that are ethical and don’t lie to us so that we see what they are really all about.

Okay, I can dream can’t I?

Leave a Reply

