Rest, Relax and Rejuvenate


Summer is officially here, and we began recently with the traditional 4th of July celebrations.  I don’t know about your neighborhood, but the fireworks have been going off for weeks, and they shot off enough this past weekend to put both of my dogs into an insane asylum, and I was about to take their tranquilizers to get an hour’s sleep.

For those of you Analytical folks out there, I realize that the first day of summer was June 21st, as that was also my birthday.  Another year older, Whoopee!  However, the reason I say that our Nation’s Birthday is a better kick off day is most people seem to begin their summer vacations this week.

I’m all for vacations, and think our minds would be better focused if we took more time off to rest, relax and rejuvenate a little.  What bugs the heck out of me is that the week off creates so much back log for most business leaders.  The number one reason for delaying a decision is that a vacation prevents people from thinking about anything 2 weeks before and 2 weeks after their week off.

I had someone this week that I nearly lost my usual composure with when they said that they plan absolutely zero appointments after they are gone for vacation.  Okay, I’ll bite, I said, “Why?  She said well I have so many emails to read it takes me all week.  Being the ultimate time manager myself (you don’t teach Franklin Covey for 14 years and not pick up something) I suggested that she use a very easy system of sorting, deleting out the junk, and responding to her highest priorities first.  This is where I almost lost it; she said “oh I don’t get a chance to respond to my emails until the week after that!”

Too bad I like being productive with my time, as getting paid to spend a week on vacation, and then spending the next two weeks getting paid to read and then respond to my email, almost sounds good.  Needless to say, this lady was very honest with me and in the end I really appreciate knowing that it will likely be another month before she can even think of finding time to make a decision.

Yet we need to ask ourselves are we doing our company any service if we are hired to do a job, and we accept a check and not earn it?  Folks, if I can impart anything today that makes a difference, I would suggest we all get a firm hold on the reality of our economy.  With unemployment closing in on 10%, this means there are plenty of people out there that can do your job!  There are plenty of people who would accept less pay than you are getting, and your employer doesn’t even have to look very hard for your replacement as they are lined up down the block ready to go to work.

So Rest, Relax and Rejuvenate when the time is right; but, do yourself a favor and put in a full day’s effort when you are at work.  Earn your salary before it is taken away or given to someone else, unless of course you want your next vacation to last for a year or so!

Leave a Reply

