Blow Your Own Horn!


Years ago I had a manager who shuddered at ever giving recognition to her employees.  If I didn’t know better I’d say she became violently ill every time she had to show appreciation in general.  A nice enough person, but her solution to a lack of recognition was to learn how to “Blow Your Own Horn!”

The first time that slipped out of her mouth, I laughed, because she was always cracking jokes.  But this time she was dead serious!  She told us all that learning the skill of blowing your own horn would be vital for promotions and our future success.

The concept is not new I realize, but I never heard another manager after that put such importance into developing the skill and that was 20 some odd years ago. 

I’m curious, has this happened to anyone else?

Frankly I see this as a cop-out for failing to manage performance through positive reinforcement.  Nothing more and nothing less.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

